Hug The World – Doubutsu Sentai Zyuohger 19 -Laser Knees 15

5-Laser Knees-2016-LogoJoin us as we start on a wild ride through Dobutsu Sentai Zyuohger! Can Yamato lead his Zyuman friends through an adventure to save the human world from the Deathgalien? Find out how we think he’s doing as we share our thoughts on:

Episode 19 – Who to Believe In!

Zyuohger19-TheWorld-Genis-Rejected

Save As… to Download |Episode Length 0:47:58

Before we start Sono is going to give credit where it is due:

Episode 18 – The Scars of Terror!

Episode Writer: Komura Junko

Episode Director: Nakazawa Shoujirou

Sono

Nothing to add here.

 Zyuohger 19’s Monster of the Week: Bowligen from Team Azald.

Zyuohger19-Dethgalien-TeamAzald-Bowligen

Naria was also there and possibly cool. She was terrible, but she was getting things done.

Zyuohger19-Naria

Animal Instincts – Overall Thoughts about the episode & it’s message

Aleph

I mean, as much as I definitely get a thing about how you should reach out to people, the biggest thing for me is that this is some shoring kids up for the biggest jerks in the world and I am ALL ABOUT IT.  There’s a lotta awful stuff happening around the world and people are turning into massive toolboxes because some clever piece of garbage finds a kid, hurts them a whole bunch (or finds a pre-hurt kid), offers them acceptance while feeding them lies, and next thing you know, you’re doing things you don’t wanna do for reasons you can’t explain because some charismatic pile of maggot-infested excrement offered you the smallest sliver of something like kindness.  Giving kids the tools–in a genre-appropriate way–to recognize and combat that, if only because Yamato would believe in you?  That’s a really lovely idea.

Sono

I definitely agree with that. Genis in that scene, and what he says, reminds me of a lot of some really bad people who have come and gone through my life and telling kids that someone saying “I know what’s best. I know you. Trust what I say.” doesn’t always know you and you shouldn’t always trust them (Even if they are someone very close to you – Re: Shibuya’s arc of Ghost.), and that you should try and focus on people who have your needs at heart — “I believe in YOU” versus “You should believe in ME.”

Ammit

<No Notes Available>

Hackles Up! – Problems & Nitpicks

Sono
  • The name of this section has never been so apt as to my feelings about the scene where Genis is talking to Misao and dropping the coins into him. Like WOW that was skeevy and gross. I’m not going to call it bad writing, because it’s definitely supposed to make your  skin crawl and that’s exactly what it did, but WOW NO LET’S NOT DO THAT AGAIN.
  • I cannot think of any reason for Cube Kuma to become Cube Panda except to sell another toy. And I’m not gonna really fault them for that, because I know that’s what this is all about, but it was super weird. Was it a power up? How did it happen? Why did Cube Kuma not do this sooner? I don’t understand?
  • I am still very concerned for Misao’s actor he is skin and bones please god someone bring him food. It’s even worse than I remembered from two weeks ago.
Aleph
  • Will definitely agree about Genis and Misao.  Holy dang that was unsettling.  To take it out of the kind of uncomfortable it was at the start into something possibly humorous, but, did anyone else get sort of a Disney-Jungle Book vibe off Genis?  Something about his weird body combined with his “believe in me” got me thinking of Kaa.  That said, given the scene, wow, glad nobody was singing.
  • I think about the only other thing I could say would be a thought that the tonal whiplash between those unsettling scenes and the slightly-silly bowling-monster (who’s just… over there somewhere?  Did they beat him off-screen and I forgot?) was a bit much.  Which is two episodes in a row where tonal whiplash has been A Thing that jumped out at me.
Ammit
  • Seeing the drama of leader wanting to redeem a villain character is a bit redundant.
  • Is Naria seriously equipped with that nunchuk style weapon that she uses only to shoot? I can’t believe that prop came back and I’m miffed she didn’t go Bruce Lee on anyone with it.
  • How injured are this people-turned-pins?! It’s probably the silliest thing we’ve seen from a villain, but it looks brutal and deadly.

Tide Turners – Stuff you enjoyed.

Sono
  • The whole team loves Yamato so much. They worry for him and are willing to trust his judgement. I just thought all of them sitting around worrying about him after Misao beat him and talking about how much Yamato had helped everyone was really sweet.
  • Naria got to fight!! And she was holding her own against four Zyuohgers! I wish we’d gotten to see more, but man this little bit was nice.
  • After Misao breaks out of his mind control, Leo and Amu actually go and rub their faces on Yamato when they congratulate him on getting through to Misao. I cannot believe this. Like holy heck is that a cat gesture, and not one I expect to see because it’s kind of awkward for a person to do.
Aleph
  • Naria got to fight.  More of that, please.  Lots more.  Fewer monsters, just Naria showing up because she doesn’t give one single crap about the players’ deal.  She’s cottoned onto this being a bigger thing than the previous Blood Games.
  • They used Mario so well to drop that little bit of exposition this episode.  I really enjoyed that.
  • The “believe in me” vs. “I believe in you” scene was really well-realized.  Especially Genis fading in eyes-first.
Ammit
  • Naria is literally handling The World. I want to see even more from her, but this is good for now. She is actively doing a thing, which is lovely.
  • The World’s body language and vocal performance when he is back in action after being reconditioned by Genis is quite effectively creepy. He seems like an empty shell. I think it’s especially impactful after having seen him break at the start of the epiosde and then being chained by Genis.
  • The directing of the fight was good at the factory. They went multi-depth again and that’s really neat. Is Zyuohger the first show to regularly feature that?

Evolutions – What do you think this show has in store for the future?

Sono
  • I guess we still have to explore what Azald has against Misao? That’s a weird thing to bring up and then have Misao jump sides and not explore at all. I wonder if he’ll do a sort of “I told you so thing.” and promise to either kill Misao or bring him back so Genis can kill him?
  • So the three Zyuman that got their powers put into Misao are ghosts in the episode preview, and it seems like they’re just going to haunt Misao. So when they were all hanging from the ceiling in the meat locker they were dead as heck, which gives me some retroactive chills, but also I hope they remind this poor kid to eat.
Aleph

On that bit, I just couldn’t help wondering if those medals they stole from the Kougami Foundation were similarly laced with Genis’ cells and if that’s part of what’s keeping the fusion of the three animals in one human body stable so he’s also part Genis?

Ammit
  • Mario knows! He’ll keep dropping lines until he can’t deny he knows they’re the Zyuohgers but he will have been helping them out all along.
  • There might just be a The World double cross coming down the line because of traces of Dark Gundam Cells…. I mean Genis in Masao

Quick Reflexes – Questions in reaction to this bit of Zyuohger.

  1. So The World is already jumping sides. Does it feel too soon? Sudden? Forced?

NEXT WEEK — EPISODE 20: Champion of the World!

To share your thoughts with us or ask us questions about Zyuohger and Super Sentai in general from the jungle of the net, direct your instincts to our inbox, Submit a portion of your self to us on Tumblr or probe our souls with your pithy or verbose messages on twitter @unkamenrx.

Subscribe: RSS | iTunes

You can reach us individually

@NeedsMoreAleph -Aleph

@TrialOfHeroes -Ammit

@MamaFriesMeal -Sono

One thought on “Hug The World – Doubutsu Sentai Zyuohger 19 -Laser Knees 15

Leave a Reply

