Resistance Is Fruitile -Drive X Gaim: Full Throttle -RX! 109

Today we’re putting Kamen Rider Drive to the test as speedy as we can, as we discuss:

Kamen rider Drive X Kamen rider Gaim: Full Throttle!

Q1:  One of the purposes of the crossover movies is to provide an epilogue or thematic closure to the previous series: do we think the Gaim section managed that?

Q1A:  If you had not watched Gaim, would this make you want to?

Q1B:  How annoyed would you be if you did so?

Q2:  On this show, we’ve criticized Gaim for featuring a protagonist who just rolls over and accepts the rule of a power claiming to represent “evolution”; in this movie, he fights such a creature.  Too little/too late or a welcome bit of pushback to how Gaim ended?

Q3:  A common sentiment on this very program is that we’ve been fond of Kouta when he’s written by people who are not Gen Urobuchi: how did we like him here and how did we like the rest of the returning cast?

Q4:  Does the conflict with Kamen Rider Lupin adequately explore or explain what it is to be Kamen Rider or why there can (apparently) be only one?

Q5:  The “something special” the movie talks about as the reason Shinnosuke can be Drive is revealed, off-handedly, to be confidence and potential: does that imply anything about what the series thinks of the rest of the cast?

Q6:  What do we feel about the Drive section overall as it relates to the show it’s advertising?  Does it fit in with the show we’ve been covering?

Q7:  How did we like the idea of bringing the two shows together through the idea of having the Borg getting curious about Roimudes?  Bit of a stretch, clever connection or something else?

Q8:  Was the traditional crossover-ending cavalcade of CGI nonsense ending with a double-Rider Kick affecting for you this time ‘round?  Did the movie earn the applause it was aiming for?

Sono asked for us to share her notes, so enjoy her screaming at this dumb movie:

Sono: From here on are my notes, which are pretty much raw reactions to the movie as I watched it, minus the swearing and edited slightly to make real sentences out of things instead of just constant run-on’s. A lot can probably be ignored but there are a few points I’ll probably go on to bring up.

GAIM SOLO BIT:

Okay so we are starting this with Mai getting kidnapped. Really? REALLY? Kidnap Kota’s bunny friend. Mai has been through enough.

The amount of CGI in this opening scene is killing me. Is this at all necessary? I mean I know it’s Gaim and that its whole budget when into CGI at the expense of literally anything else but come on.

So Earth is threatened because Kouta got caught off guard. Again. Thanks, Kouta.

Wait. Helheim got assimilated and then Megahex (????????) left for Earth. But Helheim still seemed pretty okay? I mean other than Mai being kidnapped which NO ONE HAS MENTIONED YET, but like… It didnt seem to hurt the planet at all? What is Kota so concerned about?

Apparently seeing Micchy still makes me want to vomit. Great. Takatora’s eyeliner is still on point though.

HOW MANY TIMES ARE WE GOING TO BLOW UP THIS CITY???????

Why are Kota and Megahex even fighting? I do not understand??? This doesn’t make sense. Nothing has been explained so far.

So Kota fell from the sky bleeding magical fruit sparkles, lost his god powers, and turned back into normal Kota. And everyone got hit by a rainbow that formed form the impact. This MIGHT just be a bad skittle commercial. I’m not sure.

The hex flooring cgi can dissolve people. Thats the first time anything in this movie has been mildly threatening and I’m 10 minutes in.

Michi does not care about anyone do not try to lie to me, movie. I’m not stupid.

Okay so it seems like this comes down to the idea of Individuality vs. The Hive Mind. Wasn’t that the plot of the SHOW??? I mean not directly I guess but… Geez. This feels really redundant and awkward.

This did jack all to Heheim. Why is it screwing up Earth so badly?

I’m hardly paying attention to this fight so I’m gonna take this chance to note that Gaim and Baron were dancing together earlier. Are all the teams together now? I didn’t make it to the end of Gaim so please clear that up for me because when I left everyone hated each other. Also Chucky, Rika, and Rat arent’ here. did they flee the city? I hope they did. They deserve better than all of this.

OH GOD ITS MECHA RYOUMA I FORGOT ABOUT HIM BEING A THING OH MY GOD WHY THIS

This makes no sense and I think it requires me to know stuff from the end of Gaim (Which isn’t bad, as this is supposed to be closure for that.) and also requires me to care which I do not.

Why are we all gathered at the Team Gaim garage? Why not take MIcchy to your huge house? Or even better, a HOSPITAL????? You are in a GARAGE.

I’m now 15 minutes in and all I’ve seen of Chucky, Rika, and Rat is a photo from before the show when Yuya was alive. This is not working toward winning my favor.

MAI YOU WERE KIDNAPPED. WHY ARE YOU APPEARING TO THIS JERK IN A DREAM hooooooooly hell this is… why? why is this happening? Why did I agree to this? I am too sober for this.

Okay so Mai has been kidnapped. For 15 mintues no one even BRINGS THIS UP, and now Mai is just being totally self sacrificing and going “Nah blow this place up its cool if I die.” I am so not into what’s going on here this is so dumb.

Wait wait wait back up a few seconds. Micchy still has a belt? Takatora said he had the last one and didn’t he just give that over to his brother??? Mai didn’t give him another belt. What the heck is happening here? Where did this belt come from!?

OH MY GOD DONT LET MICCHY BE THE HERO HE DOESNT DESERVE IT HE DESERVES NOTHING

Its hilarious how they’re talking about things being hollow because this whole movie is hollow so far. It probably requires an emotional investment that I just dont have but holy heck, I’m just really not feeling any of this. It’s all the reasons I hated this show come back to haunt me and the few characters I really liked arent even here to make it slightly better.

“I will save you! Thats the only way I can redeem myself!” EX. CUSE. ME!??!?!?!?!

The exposed machinery on Ryouma’s face is actually really cool and is a nice effect in line with the sort of “body horror” we keep talking about with Kamen Rider.

MIcchy did you just shoot Mai?! Why did you think that would go well? But it did it went fine she isn’t hurt at all. I’m so angry he saved her. He doesn’t deserve this. He doesn’t deserve to feel redeemed. He hurt SO MANY PEOPLE this doesn’t make up for jack shit.

Ugh I so hate the idea of machines being opposed to emotions and the idea of “sentiment”. I mean a thing I really love about the Roimudes is that they try to embrace that and use it. This feels like such a step back.

I’m also kind of bothered by these machines that were created to reject nature (re: Helheim) being able to assimilate organic matter so easily.

And once again Mai is left to do literally nothing while the boys fight.

I do really want to believe in Takatora for some reason. Thats a weird thing that’s going on with me in this movie. I dont actually know what went on with him in the later half and his actions were the final straw that knocked me off the Gaim wagon, but somehow he feels so genuine in this. Like he really does have regrets that he lives with and will always live with no matter if he saves the world now or not.

Takatora being willing to die with Megahex to stop him really just backs up what Im feeling about him. He’s caused so much damage that he’s willing to die to keep that damage from happening again. He doesnt want to be redeemed. He wants the safety of the world even at his own expense and I hate to say it but holy hell that’s what a Kamen Rider should be. Takatora’s eyeliner isn’t the only thing about him that’s on point right now.

DID THE GREAT PUMPKIN JUST DESCEND UPON THE PUMPKIN PATCH??

OH MY GOD ITS KOTA

KOTA IS THE GREAT PUMPKIN, CHARLIE BROWN!!!

Okay, okay. Wait. I got excited too soon. Kota got his god powers back, and him existing gives Mai her god powers back? Like that is totally reliant on him? You can’t give this girl FIVE MINUTES of her own agency? She spends this whole movie crying to Micchy and now her god powers are also 100% reliant on Kota having his powers and showing up to save her?!

The Megahex copies show up and all I can think of is that one bit in Steven Universe where they’re fighting Peridot’s marbles over and over and Garnet is like “We can’t fight these forever! Okay, we can, but I don’t feel like it.”

DRIVE SOLO BIT:

Oh my god are we reusing the slowdown stock footage AGAIN? You couldn’t even be bothered to film new bits for that?! This is so lazy.

Oh my god he runs and holds his cape up so it flutters behind him Lupin is a NERD.

Man the CGI in this movie is bad…

There goes Krim not telling people things again. Krim you know shit is going on why not just explain and then Shinnousuke can do his brain blast thing and we can just skip the fluff?

Krim hints that Shinnosuke has something beyond speed and strength that qualified him to be drive. I assume this is his weird genetic immunity to mental stuff that we recently learned about. Since this movie was pretty early on, that’s kind of a nice drop, but there’s way too much distance between the drop and the payoff.

Rinna builds a thing literally overnight, AGAIN, and no one is impressed. I guess since she does it all the time, it’s not remarkable to them? It should be though. Come on. At least be impressed that she makes this stuff so fast!!

Why is Brain concerned about Zawame CIty? Why does he even know what that is???

Oh my god Otta in the back of the truck. What a gem.

How the heck did the density shift thing get broken?????

Oh my god Shinnousuke did you just ask how Krim knew his hideout was the GIANT CASTLE UP ON TOP OF A HILL???? Where else would it be?!

The explanation behind Krim being a belt is in this movie. Yet another thing that should be present in real canon that is explained via extra-canon material. Great. A+, Drive. At least they’re consistent.

Back up. Tojo looked into Drive’s origins and was literally able to trace everything back to Krim and find the mansion and hijack the robot body? He was able to do this and NO ONE ELSE WAS??? KYU COULDNT???

“A feeble-minded fool who reduced himself to menswear.” oh my god thats so good.

So Lupin wants to be a hero Rider? I mean sure why not? He’s about as qualified as anyone else in this show.

Giving Krim all the credit for snapping Shinnosuke out of his funk is pretty bull.

So Shinnouske is totally by himself without Krim huh? No partner to rely on? No one watching his back and helping him fight? No one looking out for him and making sure he’s focused? No one at all, huh?????? No one?????

OH GUESS WHO FOUND YOU OUTSIDE THE MANSION SHINNOUSKE ITS THAT NOBODY.

VEGAS BRINGING UP KIRIKO’S WORDS OH MY GOD. All the little honks are so supportive. They want to help.

NO ONE ASKED YOU TO BE HERE GOU GET OUT OH MY GIOD DID YOU JUST ROLL OVER ON THE COUCH?! GET OUT.

Aww man you’re really not gonna show Tojo in the police skirt? Come on I have earned that after what this movie has put me through.

“Kiriko would never smile to cheer me up. Kiriko only smiles when I’ve done my job properly.” I”d like to factor back to our discussion on Kiriko’s smile and the fact that I think its is a pretty good show of what it means. Shinnousuke knows Kiriko doesn’t smile for other people’s sake. She won’t smile just to make someone feel better. She smiles when she’s proud of him. When she is legitimately happy, Kiriko will smile. Protecting Kiriko’s smile is giving Kiriko reasons to be happy. Not that she can’t find happiness on her own, but that these are people who care about her and want to make someone they care about happy. Kiriko does the same for the. She looks after them. She protects them. They want to do the same for her.

Lupin has a great henshin tho.

OH GREAT LETS HOLD BOTH LEADING LADIES HOSTAGE GREAT THAT’S JUST WHAT I WANTED IN THIS MOVIE.

“The one who taught me what that name stands for is Kiriko.” There is a lot of verbal acknowledgement of Kiriko’s position in Shinnosuke’s life but wouldn’t it have been better if he SAVED HER FIRST and then she drive the car and helped him launch onto the balloon and then didn’t wreck the magic car and then climbed up on the roof and flipped Lupin the bird??? Disappointed in all of the telling and not showing, especially when Shinnousuke had this big emotional thing about Krim being broken, but seems to not really be showing any emotional concern for Kiriko…

This hot air balloon is not safe…

Oh good everyone is falling to their deaths. Nice.

Mildly annoyed that in his distress, Shinnosuke gains power while Kiriko still needs saving…Not a good parallel.

I hope Kiriko marries this car. Fuck everyone else I want Kiriko to get with Tridoron. Shinnosuke didn’t do jack shit to save her.

Oh look Chase is here thanks for showing up 15 minutes late.

“This will be the only time you have my help.” hahahaha you keep telling yourself that buddy.

KIRIKO SHOULD ALWAYS HAVE TO DRIVE FOR THE RIDER KICK DRIVE SHOULD FULLY BE RELIANT ON HER ACTIONS TO DO THINGS. Shinnousuke’s actions should always require assistance from his partner.

DRIVE x GAIM:

The megahex got ultimate power from a broken roimude? Really?

Did Shinnosuke just drive all the way to Zawame that quick??? Is it the next town over?

Oh my god that conversation between Shinnouske and KOuta was great. “I might be some kind of space god?????” “lol okay whatever buddy lets just kick this guy in the face.”

OH GOD WHY THIS TRASH BAG NO ONE WANTS YOU HERE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG

IM SO ANGRY ABOUT THIS GAIM CAST SPEECH BECAUSE THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED THE SHOW TO BE AND THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS NOT “Individuality is potential. We dont have to be perfect. We just need to work together toward a better future.” Ugh I’m so annoyed. Gaim doesn’t deserve to deliver a message like that.

aaaaaaaa okay but then the Roimudes show up like “Nahhhhh we like individual personalities in our robot hivemind its fun that way” and omg Brain just like “haha we’re gonna hang out and beat these guys up with you just for funsies.” Good guys and bad guys fighting a badder guy together is my favorite thing about crossovers.

Riders also not understanding how each other’s stuff works is also my favorite thing.

Why would Shinnosuke assume Mai is a goddess? I mean he’s right but what if she’s just some blonde girl with weird heterochromia?

Mai what unholy abominations have you just created???

Oh god Shinnousuke turning the wheel on the sword and just pushing Kouta foward. “Go get ‘em, sport.” How great.

This dual-finisher is the dumbest most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

WHY DO ORANGES MAKE THE CAR CAPABLE OF SPACE TRAVEL?????

They can’t get in the car oh my god.

DONT FORGET YOUR SEATBELT, MR. SPACE GOD.

Oh my god Shinnosuke is just going full nerdy dad on Kouta oh my god.

Giant mecha space car dragon. Yeah this is a Rider Movie Wars. Also why do the dragons keep making tiger noises???

These two are both idiots and I have no idea how they plan to survive this.

…They survived by fucking spraying juice in the magic space car dragon’s face I can’t believe it

BEACAUSE. MACHINES. CANT. GET. WET.

Mai and Kiriko should have driven the car. This would have been a lot more exciting.

“I suppose the Kamen Riders have earned some applause for today.” And then Heart, Brain, and Chase just turn and walk away good lord that is a level of sass I was not expecting.

How does Kota know what a police officer is? They dont have police in Zawame.

“We should leave without saying goodbye.”

“DONT LEAVE WITHOUT SAYING GOODBYE YOU NERDS.”

Okay so they can turn off the god powers at will??? Also are they just gonna say goodbye to the B-Team or are they gonna go visit everyone else too? Okay we’re just gonna leave that open. Sure. Why not.

So is Lupin just haunting the Drive Pit now? Is he just hanging out in canon just watching everything go all to hell and laughing about it? Does he get angry when Shinnouske fails because he expects better of his rival? I want to see all of canon from this point through LUpin’s eyes. That would be great.

I like this song but this end sequence is boring as heck…


The new music featured in the inrto and outro is an awesome song, She-Wolf from Valery & the Greedies’ album Where’s Satan? the album is really cool and you should check it out here.


No feedback this week, but feel free to share your thoughts on OUR thoughts on Drive X Gaim, which we’ll share when we discuss Kamen Rider Drive 34 and 35 and your feedback on it next week in the next -RX!

You can reach us through @unKamenRX or the show’s inbox to submit any questions, suggest topics for future shows or just let us know how we’re doing.

This episode’s hosts can be reached @TrialOfHeroes for Ammit, @NeedsMoreAleph for Aleph and @MamaFriesMeal for Sono.

Please rate and review to raise our visibility and listen to us wherever you are by subscribing through iTunes, Stitcher, or your favorite RSS reader.

2 thoughts on “Resistance Is Fruitile -Drive X Gaim: Full Throttle -RX! 109

  1. First of all I want to say I really enjoy this podcast and look forward to every episode. As well as Moon Speak. Keep fighting the good fight. Good luck, good wishes, and good work.

    Q1: I believe Gaim got as much closure as anyone trying to save what Urobuchi had written can manage. Which is far more than what Gaim deserves. But I feel that beyond some major missteps, such as how Mai was treated in this film, that it did it’s best to provide closure similar to the final episode of Gaim.

    Q1A: If I hadn’t have watched Gaim I would be curious to know the story of the characters. But not because they were particularly great. But because I would just be curious. I don’t think anyone who doesn’t have that simple curiosity would want to go back and watch it.

    Q1B: There are people who like Gaim so I guess they would be happy (and wrong) but probably confused too. They wouldn’t be get out of it what was conveyed in this film.

    Q2:  I wouldn’t say too little too late as it is always nice to see a character grow. Although one would hope for that growth to be shown in and during the actual show. But it’s nice knowing Kouta had some time to think presumably and realized the mistake he made in not doing so before. Here’s hoping they use the Gaidens to fix that somehow. I would watch a side (should have been in the show) story of Kouta and Mai hunting down Sagara and ending his cycle of genocide masked as biblical evolution.

    Q3:  Gaim as a whole is just written better when not written by Urobuchi. It still has it’s problems but the whole show isn’t a problem as it is when written by Urobuchi. The final episode of Gaim was lovely. The soccer movie, while still being awful, seemed to mock gaim and its short comings and characters. This movie does a far better job at portraying the theme Gaim apparently wanted to tell. Gaim is just handled better when not handled by Urobuchi.

    Q4: Drive and Sanjo’s work on Rider tends to have a problem with outwardly trying to identify what a rider is and what one stands for. It is talked about far too often I think. And doesn’t show it quite enough. Show us what a rider is. Don’t tell us. Or at least not as often as is tends to come up in his work. But with Drive specifically. It bothered me that Shinnosuke was so easily ready to give up the title as if it can be taken away because your belt doesn’t work. Being a Rider is about more than being able to transform and that isn’t brought up enough. At least when discussed by anyone besides Kiriko. They had a great idea in having that be the main plot point of the Drive portion of the film. But it was all very surface level and suffered because of it. As for the “There can only be one!” argument… Mach is just casually in and out of the film in such a mocking manner to that that I couldn’t take that seriously. There can only be one rider and yet we are showcasing the secondary because reasons. Although Mach’s title of Kamen Rider is very questionable at the moment. But i find it odd and quite hilarious that the Gaim portion handled defining a Rider much better with Takatora and his mid-transformation speech. He never once claims himself to be a rider or anything. Just that he wants to save the world. The world that he once planned to kill most of the population off of. And that understated moment did so much for this film as a whole. Especially in contrast to Drive trying verbally showcase a rider and Micchy only saving Mai because it was what he felt to be the only way to redeem himself.

    Q5: I wouldn’t say it reflects or implies what the show thinks of the rest of the characters. Just that they either had no clue how the rest of the show would play out or this being written lazily and or without thought. I don’t believe they were trying to imply Kiriko or anyone else doesn’t have those traits but they didn’t think about how this could come across.

    Q6: I feel this film fits in towards the beginning of the series as it should. But the back half has been so different that trying to see how this film places in the show now would be a hard thing to do. The one thing I can see that flows into the Drive we are watching currently is the discussion over Kiriko’s smile.

    Q7: I believe the two shows were brought together nicely. But as with all of the movie wars, I would love more of an interaction between the non-rider casts. As for Megahex being the glue. I felt it worked.

    Q8:  Was the traditional crossover-ending cavalcade of CGI nonsense ending with a double-Rider Kick affecting for you this time ‘round?  Did the movie earn the applause it was aiming for?

    The film ended as expected of all crossovers but what worked with this was the comedy. The characters knowing how ridiculous it all was. Kouta and Shinnosuke make a great comedic duo and the banter was amazing and refreshing.

    • Thanks for the kind words about this show and Moon Speak. We appreciate your support and thanks for sharing and answering our questions. We ran out of time to pose them to the audience this week, but still want to hear from everybody. I had a good time going through your responses.

Leave a Reply

