Perfection Overshot – Sailor Moon Crystal 14 Review

SMC Act 14 – Conclusion and Commencement – Petite Etrangere

Except for the whiplash I got at the end, I really enjoyed this episode. The final show down with Queen Metalia was fantastic. Usagi’s power coming from the noble sacrifices of her friends and Luna’s prayer is surprising. I’m not sure from where Takeuchi is coming with this idea, but the strengthening and illuminating power of prayer really resonated with me- it is such an off-beat choice for most fiction. I can’t think of anything that comes close, from what I’ve seen over the years. Most entertainment which pits heroic and villainous forces against each other involves mundane violence and takes a more common path to illustrate messages which can be good, poignant and beautiful even though they are punctuated by explosions and giant robot puches, lazer beams or Rider Kicks- the endgame here is so striking for its lack of actual impact.

Again, Takeuchi splits her storytelling in an interesting way. This episode could have easily been two, but the immediate release of seeing life having returned to normal after all the drama and near-tragedies is really welcome. Other personal moments for the characters were really satisfying too, like Luna pleading with Queen Serenity and Usagi turning down the full Moon Queen position. The music was really great in the fight with Metalia and the scenes of Usagi and her friends living a normal life.

SMC-14

I’m not going to go into the last minute or two of the episode which kind of ruined it for me, I try to pretend that didn’t happen. I give this episode an 5 out of 5 on an emotional high.

I also give the episode 3 out of 5 for Takeuchi falling flat on her face which came out of nowhere, almost like a like a tiny pink-haired Usagi pointing a gun in my face and making me feel a little betrayed.

 

Leave a Reply

