Time In The Sun- Persona 4 The Golden Animation 3 Review

Persona 4 the Golden Animation –3 I have Amnesia, Is It So Bad?

For those of you playing along at home, you might be in for a shock- I actually liked this episode. Partly.

About half of this episode was at the beach, showcasing those glistening, firm, young, 2D bodies, but the remainder was more than deep enough to push aside my irritation and bring back that old familiar feeling of satisfaction. Once again, the vehicle for this stirring is the increasingly more-than-fan-service Marie. It looks like Marie’s job in this story is to somehow play off of Narukami and Kuma to service the slowly developing story, which is service to this fan. One of the most engaging elements of Persona 4 was watching the characters struggle to face themselves. Why that has been included in this series in an inadequate way, I can not understand. I concede that the characters have acknowledged (what I presume are) their experiences in the TV world, and while their testimonials were interesting I think they would have been more impactful with a greater amount of context. I think showing some of the excursions into the TV, modified from the previous anime, or reusing extant footage even, would do much to increase the impact of the new insights and perspectives presented. Isn’t there a dictum about showing instead of telling?

Marie’s struggle to find out who or what she is should prove interesting, despite my hunch that I already know. I am compelled by her similarities to Kuma and Narukami’s tenderness and compassion toward her, which I feel form a key to making this series enjoyable for those interested in a solid character story for the Persona 4 Team.

Stupid sex humor aside (which cut out the delicious bits of fat-marbled meat of character-driven dram I have come to expect) I give this episode a 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

